Your Source For Making Wine and Beer

Vegan Wine

Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Vegan wine is wine made without animal products. As such it can be part of a vegan diet. While wine is essentially made from grapes, on occasion animalic products are used in small amounts in the production process. Wineries might use animal-derived products as finings. To remove proteins, yeasts, and other organic particles which are in suspension during the making of the wine, a fining agent is added to the top of the vat. As it sinks down, the particles adhere to the agent, and are carried out of suspension. None of the fining agent remains in the finished product sold in the bottle, and not all wines are fined. All Kosher wines are vegan.
Source: Wikipedia



This is something that I really never gave much thought to. Generally, I don't use any finings in my wines primarily because I think just a little bit of sediment leaves some extra flavor. For those of you that want to try a vegan wine prior to making one, check out this list.

1 comments:

WiZiE said...

nice wine blog
nice article
keep it up

About

My photo

Blogging about the things that I like.

  © Blogger templates Newspaper II by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP